2012 Whiting Award winners announced

2012 Whiting Award winners announced – latimes.com

The Whiting Foundation announced its 2012 literary award recipients Tuesday. The 10 authors will each receive a $50,000 grant, no strings attached.

The Whiting Awards are geared to help extraordinary new writers find the footing to achieve success. Awards are made to poets, novelists, short-story writers, playwrights and writers of nonfiction.

Past recipients include Jeffrey Eugenides, Tony Kushner, David Foster Wallace, Jonathan Franzen, Mark Doty, Colson Whitehead, C.D. Wright, Douglas Kearney, Michael Cunningham, Tracy K. Smith and John Jeremiah Sullivan.


Discover more from Notes in the Margin

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top