Lamott, Anne

Introductory Notes

Anne Lamott was born in San Francisco, California, in 1954, the daughter of Kenneth Lamott (a writer) and Dorothy Lamott (who later became an attorney). In addition to her novels and nonfiction books, she wrote a food column for California magazine (1988-1991) and a book review column for Mademoiselle (1990-1992), and has been a regular contributor to the online magazine Salon and to National Public Radio.

For more information:

The publication of Operating Instructions in 1993 brought Lamott to national prominence. Critics often use phrases such as “edgy humor” and “caustic wit” to describe her writing, both fiction and nonfiction. Much of her work, particularly her earlier pieces, contains autobiographical elements such as her childhood in a dysfunctional family and her financial and creative struggles as a writer. 

Books by Anne Lamott


  • Hard Laughter (1980)

  • Rosie (1983)

  • Joe Jones (1985)

  • All New People (1989)

  • Crooked Little Heart (1997)

  • Blue Shoe (2002)


  • Operating Instructions: A Journal of My Son’s First Year (1993)

  • Home and Other Stories (1993)

  • Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life (1994)

  • Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith (1999)

  • Plan B: Further Thoughts on Faith (2005)

  • Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith (2007)

All material on these pages is © as indicated by Mary Daniels Brown