Woods, Stuart

Introductory Notes

For more information:

Stuart Woods was born on January 9, 1938, in Manchester, Georgia. His original surname of Lee was legally changed to his stepfather’s surname in 1955. Woods graduated from the University of Georgia with a B.A. in sociology. In 1960 he moved to New York City, where he got a job in an advertising agency. At the end of the decade he moved to London, where he also worked in advertising.

After three years in London, Woods moved to Ireland, where he began writing “the novel he had been thinking about since the age of ten,” he says on his Web site. But not too far into the novel he discovered sailing, which took up much of his time. When Woods’s grandfather died, leaving Stuart just enough money for his own boat, he began to pursue sailing in earnest and has participated in several major races. He finally finished that novel, eight years after he had started it, which was published as Chiefs in 1981.

Woods now lives in Key West, Florida, on Mount Desert Island in Maine, and in New York City.

Books by Stuart Woods

Will Lee Series

Stone Barrington Series

Holly Barker Series

  • Orchid Beach, 1998
  • Orchid Blues, 2001
  • Blood Orchid, 2002
  • Iron Orchid, 2005

Ed Eagle Series

  • Santa Fe Rules, 1992
  • Short Straw, 2006
  • Santa Fe Dead, 2008
  • Santa Fe Edge, 2008

Rick Barron Series

  • The Prince of Beverly Hills,  2004
  • Beverly Hills Dead, 2008

Other Novels


  • Blue Water, Green Skipper (1977)
  • A Romantic's Guide to the Country Inns of Britain and Ireland (1979)
  • A Romantic's Guide to London (1980)
  • A Romantic's Guide to Paris (1981)
  • A Romantic's Guide to the Country Inns of France (1981)

All material on these pages is © as indicated by Mary Daniels Brown