Walters, Minette

Introductory Notes

British mystery novelist Minette Walters was born September 26, 1949, in Bishop's Stortford, England. She has attracted quite a following in the U.S. as well as in the U.K. Her first novel, The Ice House, received the British John Creasey Award for best first crime novel of 1992. Her next novel, The Sculptress, won the Edgar Allan Poe Award for the best crime novel published in America in 1993. And in 1994 her third novel, The Scold’s Bridle, received the British Gold Dagger Award for best crime novel of the year. The BBC has dramatized several of Walters’s novels.  

What makes Walters such a popular writer is her ability to probe the psychological complexities of her characters at the same time that she creates spellbinding plots to hold readers’ interest while allowing the characters to reveal themselves. Time after time a Walters novel reveals that things are not always as they seem and that, by making and acting upon assumptions, we often miss the truth.

Books by Minette Walters

(Dates given are for publication in the United States.)

The Ice House (1992)

The Sculptress (1993)

The Scold’s Bridle (1994)

The Dark Room (1996)

The Echo (1997)

The Breaker (1999)

The Shape of Snakes (2000)

Acid Row (2001)

Disordered Minds (2003)

Fox Evil (2003)

The Devil's Feather (2006)

The Chameleon's Shadow (2008)

All material on these pages is © as indicated by Mary Daniels Brown