Sandford, John

Introductory Notes

John Sandford is the pseudonym of author and journalist John Camp, who won the Pulitzer Prize in journalism in 1986 and the Distinguished Writing Award of the American Society of Newspaper Editors for 1985.

Untitled Text

Camp was born in 1944 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He attended the University of Iowa, where he received a bachelor’s degree in American Studies in 1966 and a master’s degree in journalism in 1971. After graduating from college in 1966, Camp spent two years in the Army, including service in Korea. He then worked as a reporter in Cape Girardeau, Missouri, before returning to the University of Iowa for his master’s degree. He later worked at newspapers in Miami and St. Paul.

Camp’s many interests include archaeology, outdoor sports (hunting, fishing, canoeing, and skiing), golf, and reading history. He now has homes in Lakeland Shores, Minnesota, and Pasadena, California. 

When Camp’s first two novels, Rules of Prey and The Fool’s Run, were scheduled to be published just three months apart in 1989, G. P. Putnam’s Sons, publisher of Rules of Prey, asked him to use a pseudonym. He chose the name Sandford after his great grandfather, who had fought in the Civil War. Be sure to check the FAQ on his Web site for other authors who have similar names.

Books by John Sandford

The Prey Series:

    1. Rules of Prey (1989)

    2. Shadow Prey (1990)

    3. Eyes of Prey (1991)

    4. Silent Prey (1992)

    5. Winter Prey (1993)

    6. Night Prey (1994)

    7. Mind Prey (1995)

    8. Sudden Prey (1996)

    9. Secret Prey (1998)

   10. Certain Prey (1999)

   11. Easy Prey (2000)

   12. Chosen Prey (2001)

   13. Mortal Prey (2002)

   14. Naked Prey (2003)

   15. Hidden Prey (2004)

   16. Broken Prey (2005)

   17. Invisible Prey (2007)

   18. Phantom Prey (2008)

   19. Wicked Prey (2009)

   20. Storm Prey (2010)

   21. Buried Prey (2011)

Virgil Flowers:

    1. Dark of the Moon (2007)

    2. Heat Lightning (2008)

    3. Rough Country (2009)

    4. Bad Blood (2010)

    5. Shock Wave (2011)

The Kidd Series:

    1. The Fool's Run (1989)

    2. The Empress File (1991)

    3. The Devil's Code (2000)

    4. The Hanged Man's Song (2003)

Other Novels:

       The Night Crew (1997)

       Dead Watch (2006)

Nonfiction (as John Camp):

     The Eye and the Heart (1988)

     Plastic Surgery: The Kindest Cut (1989)

All material on these pages is © as indicated by Mary Daniels Brown