Connelly, Michael

Introductory Notes

Michael Connelly was born near Philadelphia in 1957. His family later moved to Florida, and Michael graduated from the University of Florida in 1980 with a major in journalism and a minor in creative writing. While in college Connelly discovered the works of Raymond Chandler and decided to become a writer.

For more information:

After graduation he worked as a crime reporter at newspapers in Daytona Beach and Fort Lauderdale, Florida. In 1986 he and two other reporters interviewed survivors of an airline crash. The resulting story, which was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize, landed Connelly a job at the Los Angeles Times.

After working at the LA Times for three years, Connelly began writing The Black Echo, the first novel featuring LAPD Detective Hieronymus Bosch. He has been writing novels ever since.

Connelly currently lives in Florida.

Books by Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch Series

  • The Black Echo (1992)
  • The Black Ice (1993)
  • The Concrete Blonde (1994)
  • The Last Coyote (1995)
  • Trunk Music (1997)
  • Angels Flight (1999)
  • A Darkness More Than Night (2001)
  • City Of Bones (2002)
  • Lost Light (2003)
  • The Narrows (2004)
  • The Closers (2005)
  • Echo Park (2006)
  • The Overlook (2007)
  • The Brass Verdict (2008)
  • Nine Dragons (2009)
  • The Reversal (2010)
  • The Drop (2011)

Mickey Haller Series

  • The Lincoln Lawyer (2005)
  • The Brass Verdict (2008)
  • The Reversal (2010)
  • The Fifth Witness (2011)

Jack McEvoy Series

  • The Poet (1996)
  • The Scarecrow (2009)

Terry McCaleb Novel

Cassie Black Novel

  • Void Moon (2000)

Non-Series Novel

  • Chasing the Dime (2002)


  • Crime Beat (2006)

All material on these pages is © as indicated by Mary Daniels Brown