Card, Orson Scott

Introductory Notes

Orson Scott Card, best known for his science fiction works in the Ender series (beginning with Ender's Game), was born in Richland, Washington, in 1951. Having served his Mormon mission in Brazil from 1971 until 1973, he received his B.A. (with distinction) from Brigham Young University in 1975 and his M.A. from the University of Utah in 1981. 

Card has run a repertory theater and worked as an editor, writer, and computer game designer. He continues to teach writing at a number of colleges and universities. He lives with his family in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Card's works have won a number of literary awards. He was the first writer to win the prestigious Hugo Award in consecutive years: in 1986 for Ender's Game and in 1987 for Speaker for the Dead; each of these works also won a Nebula Award. Card won the Hugo Award for nonfiction in 1991 for How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy

Orson Scott Card has also published under the pseudonyms Byron Walley and Noam D. Pellume.

For more information:

Books by Orson Scott Card

This is a listing of major works only. Card has also edited and contributed to many anthologies, and written and produced plays and screenplays.

Science Fiction and Fantasy

Capitol (short stories), Ace (New York, NY), 1978.

Hot Sleep: The Worthing Chronicle, Baronet, 1978.

A Planet Called Treason, St. Martin's Press (New York, NY), 1979, revised edition, Dell (New York, NY), 1980.

Songmaster, Dial (New York, NY), 1980.

Unaccompanied Sonata and Other Stories, Dial (New York, NY), 1980.

Hart's Hope, Berkley (New York, NY), 1983.

The Worthing Chronicle, Ace (New York, NY), 1983.

Wyrms, Arbor House (New York, NY), 1987.

Folk of the Fringe (short stories), Phantasia Press (Huntington Woods, MI), 1989.

The Abyss (novelization of screenplay), Pocket Books (New York, NY), 1989.

Eye for Eye, Tor (New York, NY), 1990.

Maps in a Mirror: The Short Fiction of Orson Scott Card, Tor (New York, NY), 1990.

Worthing Saga, Tor (New York, NY), 1990.

The Changed Man, Tor (New York, NY), 1992.

Cruel Miracles, Tor (New York, NY), 1992.

Flux, Tor (New York, NY), 1992.

Monkey Sonatas, Tor (New York, NY), 1993.

(With Kathryn H. Kidd) Lovelock (first novel in "Mayflower" trilogy), Tor (New York, NY), 1994.

Magic Mirror, Gibbs Smith Publisher (Salt Lake City, UT), 1999.

(With Doug Chiang) Robota: Reign of Machines, Chronicle Books (San Francisco, CA), 2003. 

Ender Series: Science Fiction

Ender's Game, Tor (New York, NY), 1985.

Speaker for the Dead, Tor (New York, NY), 1986.

Xenocide, Tor (New York, NY), 1991.

Children of the Mind, Tor (New York, NY), 1996.

First Meetings: In the Enderverse (includes "Ender's Game," "The Polish Boy," and "Teacher's Pest"), Tor (New York, NY), 2003. 

Hegemon Series: Science Fiction

Ender's Shadow, Tor (New York, NY), 1999.

Shadow of the Hegemon, Tor (New York, NY), 2001.

Shadow Puppets, Tor (New York, NY), 2002.

The Shadow Saga, Orbit (New York, NY), 2003. 

Tales of Alvin Maker Series

Seventh Son, St. Martin's Press (New York, NY), 1987.

Red Prophet, Tor (New York, NY), 1988.

Prentice Alvin, Tor (New York, NY), 1989.

Alvin Journeyman, Tor (New York, NY), 1995.

Heartfire, Tor (New York, NY), 1998.

The Crystal City, Tor (New York, NY), 2003. 

Homecoming Series

The Memory of Earth, Tor (New York, NY), 1992.

The Call of the Earth, Tor (New York, NY), 1993.

The Ships of Earth, Tor (New York, NY), 1993.

Earthfall, Tor (New York, NY), 1994.

Earthborn, Tor (New York, NY), 1995. 

Other Works

Listen, Mom and Dad, Bookcraft (Salt Lake City, UT), 1978.

Saintspeak: The Mormon Dictionary, Signature Books (Midvale, UT), 1981.

Ainge, Signature Books (Midvale, UT), 1982.

A Woman of Destiny (historical novel), Berkley (New York, NY), 1983.

Compute's Guide to IBM PCjr Sound and Graphics, Compute (Greensboro, NC), 1984.

Cardography, Hypatia Press, 1987.

Characters and Viewpoint, Writer's Digest (Cincinnati, OH), 1988.

How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy, Writer's Digest (Cincinnati, OH), 1990.

Lost Boys, HarperCollins (New York, NY), 1992.

Treasure Box, HarperCollins (New York, NY), 1996.

Pastwatch: The Redemption of Christopher Columbus, Tor (New York, NY), 1996.

Stone Tables, Deseret Book Co. (Salt Lake City, UT), 1997.

Homebody, HarperCollins (New York, NY), 1998.

Enchantment, Del Rey (New York, NY), 1999.

Sarah (first novel of "Women of Genesis" series), Shadow Mountain (Salt Lake City, UT), 2000.

Rebekah (second novel of "Women of Genesis" series), Shadow Mountain (Salt Lake City, UT), 2001.

An Open Book (poetry), Subterranean Press/Hatrack River Publications (Burton, MI), 2003.

Rachel and Leah (third novel of "Women of Genesis" series), Shadow Mountain (Salt Lake City, UT), 2004. 

Magic Street (2005)

Empire (2006)

The Space Boy (2007)

(With Aaron Johnston) Invasive Procedures, Tor (New York), 2007.

All material on these pages is © as indicated by Mary Daniels Brown